The 2016 Index retains the conceptual framework and structure originally developed by a broad collection of preparedness stakeholders for the inaugural 2013 Index release. This conceptual framework includes a set of six domains of activity that research and experience have shown to be important in protecting people from the health consequences of disasters and other large-scale hazards and emergencies.

HSS – Health Security Surveillance

Actions to monitor and detect health threats, and to identify where hazards start and spread so that they can be contained rapidly.

7.2 - 7.8Confidence Interval

CPE – Community Planning & Engagement

Actions to develop and maintain supportive relationships among government agencies, community organizations, and individual households; and to develop shared plans for responding to disasters and emergencies.

5.1 - 5.8Confidence Interval

IIM – Incident & Information Management

Actions to deploy people, supplies, money and information to the locations where they are most effective in protecting health and safety.

8.2 - 8.6Confidence Interval

HD – Healthcare Delivery

Actions to ensure access to high-quality medical services across the continuum of care during and after disasters and emergencies.

4.8 - 5.4Confidence Interval

CM – Countermeasure Management

Actions to store and deploy medical and pharmaceutical products that prevent and treat the effects of hazardous substances and infectious diseases, including vaccines, prescription drugs, masks, gloves, and medical equipment.

6.8 - 7.2Confidence Interval

EOH – Environmental & Occupational Health

Actions to maintain the security and safety of water and food supplies, to test for hazards and contaminants in the environment, and to protect workers and emergency responders from health hazards while on the job.

5.8 - 7Confidence Interval